Mulloy

John Michael Mulloy is an elite student-athlete currently attending Carmel High School in metropolitan Indianapolis. John is one of the fastest rising prospects in the Midwest, currently ranked the #10 player in the state of Indiana for the class of 2019 per Prep Hoops. The 6’9 forward already holds a Division I offer and is receiving heavy interest  from several high major programs as well. Best known for his ability to put the ball in the basket from inside and outside, John is also an honor-roll student at Carmel High School holding down a 4.0 GPA.

     I.  AAU & SELF ANALYSIS

EM: Congrats on the great Spring/Summer, you turned some heads with your ability. Can you tell us how things went for Spiece as a team and for you individually?

JMM: Playing with Spiece in July was a great move for me. They accepted me with open arms, immediately giving me exposure I never had. As for the team, I was able to be really involved with both sides of the floor, offensively and defensively enabling me to play at my highest ability, which was great. My teammates were great and I actually play with one of the 17u players in high school. Individually it helped me realize that I am able to play at the elite level I want to play, which gave me great confidence going into my high school season, also allowing me to set goals for myself for next year possibly playing up in the 17u eybl.

 

EM: Can you describe your game for those that are not familiar?

JMM: My game right now i feel is a stretch 4 playing from the inside out in the post, being able to move out of the post and dribble around or shoot against players that are bigger/stronger than me. My IQ for the game being able to make good decisions and being able to see the court, I think is one of my best attributes. And last, I’m a hustler 110% of the time doing all the dirty work. I’m working on transitioning into a stretch 3, possibly allowing me to be even more versatile with my game.

EM: How often do you work on your game?

JMM: I workout after school making 500 shots every day, with 100 free throws every day. I also workout with my trainer Derrick Grant about 3 days a week.

 

 

 

     II. ACADEMICS AND OFF-COURT INTERESTS

EM: Can we talk a bit about your interests as a student, what is your favorite subject?

JMM: My favorite subject is Math.

EM: What do you plan to major in when attending college?

JMM: I plan on majoring in Business Management or Sports Management.

EM: What are your interests off the court?

JMM: Usually during my free time I’m with my friends and family hanging out. I do like my shoes haha, and listen to music a lot.

 

 

 

      III. RECRUITING

EM: Shifting a bit to recruiting, can you tell us which schools have offered?

JMM: Eastern Illinois is the only school to offer at this point.

EM: Which schools show interest that haven’t yet offered?

JMM: I have received information from Virginia, Wisconsin, Ball State, Nebraska, Arkansas, Butler and Xavier

EM: Any visits or team camps lined up in the near future?

JMM: The Indiana Top 80 and the Scout Focus Elite 80

EM: What factors are important to you and your family when making your college decision?

JMM: Going to the college that best suits what I want to study, and also the relationship with the coaches and team that fits my personality and style of play.

 

 

     IV. PERSONAL GOALS & ADVICE

EM: Any personal goals on or off the court?

JMM:  Develop into a forward that can play 3-5. Give 110% in everything thing I do in order to get better. My long term court goal is to play high division one and maybe have a possibility of playing in the NBA. Off the court in school, I would like to maintain my 4.0 GPA and still be able to stay active in the clubs I am in that benefit charities around Indiana.

EM: Last, if you could give the youth some advice on how to succeed either on or off the court, what would you say?

JMM: Find something you love, be passionate about it, and always give 110%.