Haliburton 1

Tyrese Haliburton is an elite student-athlete currently attending Oshkosh North High School in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The 6’4 guard is not currently ranked, but that is set to change as college coaches have taken notice of the multi-faceted perimeter player this spring on the AAU circuit playing with Wisconsin United. Haliburton already has range that extends to 25 feet, possesses excellent court vision, flashes the ability to create off the dribble, and has ideal length for a college shooting guard. Tyrese is the prototype college shooting guard with a versatile skill set that can shoot the lights out and find teammates for easy buckets.

     I.  AAU & SELF ANALYSIS

EM: Congrats on the great spring so far, you’ve turned some heads with your ability. Can you tell us about how things are going for Wisconsin United as a team and for you individually?

TH: Right now we’re playing great, people are starting to take notice of us and that’s good, but we can’t get satisfied. We have to stay hungry and get better every day. Individually, I’m shooting the ball well right now, playing defense, communicating, doing things the right way out there. I have to rebound better and get to the rim more right now with my length, which is what I’m working on every day. But overall, things are going great for the team and for me individually.

 

 

EM: Can you describe your game for those that are not familiar?

TH: I’m a lanky combo-guard that handles the ball well, can see the floor well, and attack off the bounce and finish. I can shoot beyond the arch while being able to score in traffic. I’m still growing and just working every day to get better.

EM: How often do you work on your game?

TH: I try to get in the gym almost every day, three days a week before school and the rest I go after school or down to Milwaukee for workouts and practice.

 

    

     II. ACADEMICS AND OFF-COURT INTERESTS

EM: Can we talk a bit about your interests as a student, what is your favorite subject?

TH: My favorite subject is Math, I’m a year advanced (ahead of schedule) and I’m good with numbers.

EM: What do you plan to major in when attending college?

TH: I plan to major in something business related, don’t know exactly what yet, but definitely something business related.

EM: What are your interests off the court?

TH: I’m really interested in shoes, I’ve started painting and restoring shoes during my free time. I usually spend my spare time handing with my friends, my girlfriend, and brothers.

 

 

      III. RECRUITING

EM: Shifting a bit to recruiting, can you tell us which schools have are showing interest?

TH: Florida State, IUPUI, Drake, and UW-Milwaukee

EM: Any visits or team camps lined up in the near future?

TH: I’m camping at Wisconsin and Drake this summer. I’ll also be visiting and camping at IUPUI. 

EM: What factors are important to you and your family when making your college decision?

TH: How I feel about the campus, academics, team, and coaching staff.

 

 

     IV. PERSONAL GOALS & ADVICE

EM: Any personal goals on or off the court?

TH: Getting stronger and becoming a better rebounder.

EM: Last, if you could give the youth some advice on how to succeed either on or off the court, what would you say?

TH: Just keep working, be comfortable being uncomfortable when working out, take criticism the right way and put it into your game. Grades are more important than anything, keep them up.

 

See  Highlights of Tyrese Below: