Cain Pic 1

 

Jamal Cain is an elite student-athlete currently attending Cornerstone Health/Technology in Detroit, where he makes up one half of Cornerstone’s dynamic duo, along with his cousin, Davion Bradford. The 6’6 junior wing is currently ranked #70 in the country for the class of 2017 per Rivals, and has the tantalizing combination of length, athleticism and skill that college coaches covet.

     I. HIGH SCHOOL SEASON & SELF-ANALYSIS

 

EM: Congratulations on Cornerstone’s District Championship. Can you tell us a bit about your high school season and how things went for the team and you as an individual?

 

JC: Our high school season went well, winning Districts was a huge accomplishment because we’ve never been that deep in the state playoffs as we’re a pretty new program. I don’t like to talk much about myself individually, but I feel I really improved as a leader this year with encouraging my teammates and just being a vocal leader out on the court.

 

EM: Can you describe your game for those that are not familiar?

 

JC: My game is whatever my coach needs for the team to win. For Cornerstone, I play a bit more in the post because we’re a bit undersized, and I’m comfortable doing that, but I’m primarily a perimeter player. I can knock down shots off screens, put the ball on the floor, and I pride myself on rebounding and playing solid perimeter defense.  

 

EM: How often do you work on your game per week?

 

JC: I work out at least 5 times a week, usually a few hours per day. I’ve really worked hard over the past year to improve my ballhandling skills, and that work has paid off. I go through a series of shooting and ballhandling drills along with strength and conditioning work either before or after the on court workout so that I’m prepared for the next level.

 

    

     II. ACADEMIC & FAMILY/OFF-COURT INTERESTS

 

EM: Can we talk a bit about your interests as a student? Do you have a particular major in mind when attending college?

 

JC: Definitely something sports related! I plan on majoring in Kinesiology or sports therapy/rehab

 

EM: What are your interests off the court?

 

JC: I love music, Future is my favorite artist right now. Also, my shoe game is nice! Favorite sneakers are the Jordan 12s and 6s.

 

EM: You seem to have a very close-knit family, can you shed some light as to how your family/support group has helped you as both a student and on the court as well?

 

JC: My Mom, Aunt, and mentor (who is considered family) are very involved and supportive of everything school and basketball related. My Uncle recently moved out of state, but he was a huge influence and positive role model as well. My schedule can be hectic sometimes, and they make sure I’m on track in every aspect of my life. I appreciate the sacrifices they make in order for me to be in a good position for school and basketball.

 

EM: You seem to be a very humble and mature young man, can you describe your overall demeanor and work ethic?

 

JC: I know that nothing is guaranteed in life, I really try to stay grounded and just work as hard as I possibly can in order to put myself in a good position to succeed. Just stay true to the people that are helping me along the way.

 

 

     III. RECRUITING

 

EM: Shifting a bit to recruiting, can you tell us which schools have offered you?

 

JC: Xavier, Washington State, Georgia, Oakland, UofD, Northern Kentucky, Kent State. I also speak with Memphis, Michigan, Michigan State, IUPUI, St. Bonaventure

 

EM: Which schools do you hear from the most?

 

JC: Xavier, Washington State, Georgia, Michigan, Memphis

 

EM: Any visits lined up in the near future?

 

JC: Right now, I plan on taking a few unofficials to Washington State and Georgia

 

EM: Can you talk a bit about your relationship with the coaches from UofM and MSU and how things are going with those 2 schools?

 

JC: I’ve visited UM 3-4 times and Coach Beilein has come to watch me play about 3-4 times as well, we have a pretty good relationship. I took a visit up to MSU in February and Coach Izzo said he was going to watch me play this spring/summer, so we’re going to build a relationship as well.

 

EM: What factors are important to you and your family when making your college decision?

 

JC: I want to be in a good position both academically and on the court. My mom always tells me you need a good education to fall back on if things don’t work out with basketball, so my comfort with the academics is important. I would also like to compete for playing time early on, so that’s a factor as well.

 

EM: Do you have a decision timeline?

 

JC: Not really, just whenever my family and I are comfortable.

 

    

     IV. AAU

 

EM: Can we talk about AAU a bit, what program are you running with?

 

JC: I’m running with The Family this year. I’m really excited to be part of the organization and play with the great players from the local area.

 

 

     V. PERSONAL GOALS & ADVICE

 

EM: Any personal goals, either on or off the court?

 

JC: My goal is to do really well on the ACT, definitely want to get a high score on that test.

 

EM: Last, if you could give the youth some advice on how to succeed either on or off the court, what would you say?

 

JC: Always put forth your best in the classroom and be sure to appreciate those that help you along the way.