Bradford Pic 1

 

Davion Bradford is an elite student-athlete currently attending Cornerstone Health/Technology in Detroit, where he makes up one half of Cornerstone’s dynamic duo, along with his cousin, Jamal Cain. The 6’2 junior combo guard is an electric finisher at the rim and is well known for his lockdown defense. Davion is set to blow up this summer on the AAU circuit after a breakout year for Cornerstone and college coaches will get a glimpse of what Endless Motor Sports labels our ‘Sleeper of the Year’.

     I. HIGH SCHOOL SEASON & SELF-ANALYSIS

 

EM: Congratulations on Cornerstone’s District Championship. Can you tell us a bit about your high school season and how things went for the team and you as an individual?

 

DB: We started the season off pretty strong before hitting a slump toward the middle of the year, but we really picked it up at the end of the season and ended up winning Districts. Very proud to say that we won the first District Championship in Cornerstone history. We were a really young team, with only 3-4 returning players, so I think that is a really big accomplishment. Individually, I really picked up my game this year, just being aggressive on both ends of the court to help the team.  

 

EM: Can you describe your game for those that are not familiar?

 

DB: I really love to get out in transition and run so I can use my athleticism. I’m relentless attacking the rim and absolutely love to sit on D! My biggest pet peeve is turnovers though, I really emphasize taking care of the basketball and avoiding turnovers as much as possible.   

 

EM: How often do you work on your game per week?

 

DB: Basically everyday, at least 5 days a week, usually 2 hours per day. Over the last year, I put in a lot of work on my jumpshot to compliment my ability to get to the rim in addition to working on my ballhandling. Usually run hills to get better with lower body strength and maintain my stamina and endurance.

 

 

     II. ACADEMIC & FAMILY/OFF-COURT INTERESTS

 

EM: Can we talk a bit about your interests as a student? What is your favorite subject and do you have a particular major in mind when attending college?

 

DB: Math is my favorite subject! Love working with numbers. I plan on majoring in sports rehabilitation or Kinesiology in college.

 

EM: What are your interests off the court?

 

DB: Really don’t have much spare time aside from school and basketball, but I like listening to J-Cole in my free time. Shoes are a hobby as well, my favorite shoes are the Jordan 10s and 11s.

 

EM: You seem to have a very close-knit family, can you shed some light as to how your family/support group has helped you as both a student and on the court as well?

 

DB: My family is extremely close, and really supportive of everything we do on and off the court. My mom, Aunts, mentor (who is considered family) and Uncle (before he moved) are at every game cheering us on, and always available when I need them. I truly do admire them for all the sacrifices they make in order for me to be able to have the opportunities I have. Wouldn’t be here without them.

 

EM: You seem to be a very humble and mature young man, can you describe your overall demeanor and work ethic?

 

DB: I don’t talk very much, I like to let my actions speak instead. I work very hard on and off the court and don’t take anything for granted because I know that I am blessed with an opportunity to receive a free college education and be successful in life.

 

 

 

    III. RECRUITING

 

EM: Shifting a bit to recruiting, can you tell us which schools have interest?

 

DB: I speak with Oakland, Eastern Michigan, UofD, Washington State on a regular basis

 

 EM: We think you are the most slept on player in the state of Michigan, and set to blow up this summer – what are your thoughts about that?

 

DB: I just continue to work hard and let everything else fall in place. I know that if I continue to work hard, coaches will notice and things will work out. I know what I’m capable of doing on the court and in the classroom.

 

EM: Any visits lined up in the near future?

 

DB: We (Jamal and I) plan on taking an unofficial to Washington State later in the spring/summer

 

EM: What factors are important to you and your family when making your college decision?

 

DB: Definitely academics, I want to be sure that I’m set to have a good career even if basketball does not work out. My mom has always stressed that academics are first. Also, I’d like to play early if possible, but moreso just the right fit with the coaches and making sure there is a good comfort level.

 

EM: Do you have a decision timeline?

 

DB: No timeline right now, I’ll make a decision when my family and I feel comfortable.

 

 

     IV. AAU

 

EM: Can we talk about AAU a bit, what program are you running with?

 

DB: I’ll be playing with The Family this year. Think it’s a great opportunity to play against some of the best players in the country and really be able to show my abilities as a player as well. I’m grateful for the opportunity to play with the some of the best players in Michigan.

 

 

 

     V. PERSONAL GOALS & ADVICE

 

EM: Any personal goals, either on or off the court?

 

DB: My goal is to continue doing well in school and improve my game on the court. Looking forward to proving myself on the court this summer on the AAU circuit.

 

EM: Last, if you could give the youth some advice on how to succeed either on or off the court, what would you say?

 

DB: Push yourself to be the best in whatever activity you are involved in, don’t shortchange yourself. Keep your priorities in order, and stay humble.